Saturday, July 13, 2024
HomeSnookerJak Jones holds on to win Championship League group

Jak Jones holds on to win Championship League group

Jak Jones received his 2024/25 season off to a optimistic begin by topping Group 8 of Championship League Snooker in dramatic circumstances on Monday.

This 12 months’s shock World Championship finalist went undefeated on the Mattioli Area with a victory and two attracts from his three round-robin fixtures.

The Welshman started the day with a 2-2 draw with Antoni Kowalski, Poland’s latest skilled participant who ended up sharing the factors in all of his ties.

Jones then beat Hungary’s first ever snooker skilled, overcoming Révész Bulcsú 3-1 with a excessive break of 88 that may in the end show to be essential.

By this level, Jordan Brown had amassed the identical variety of factors following a 3-1 win and a 2-2 draw with the identical opponents.

When Jones subsequently went 2-1 up in opposition to Brown within the final match of the day, the latter knew that, with their information set to be equivalent, solely a contribution greater than Jones’ earlier 88 would take him via.

The Northern Irishman certainly gained the body however fell agonisingly wanting his goal, breaking down on 87 to concede a spot in Stage Two of the competitors.

In Group 7, in the meantime, Tom Ford was the best ranked participant however was pressured to tug out halfway via the day’s motion resulting from medical causes.

That opened the door for the remaining three contenders, who every secured one win and suffered one loss from the revised three-player format.

It got here down to border distinction with the factors degree, guaranteeing a terrific begin to life on the tour for rookie Robbie McGuigan.

The Northern Irishman’s 3-0 whitewash defeat of Sanderson Lam ended up being crucial as he edged out each Lam and Barry Pinches within the remaining standings.

On Tuesday, Championship League Snooker continues with two extra teams in what’s the marketing campaign’s first rating event.

Group 24 sees Ricky Walden in motion in opposition to Martin O’Donnell, Rory Thor, and Umut Dikme.

Wu Yize is the highest seed in Group 28, with the younger Chinese language competitor cueing up alongside Ross Muir, Allan Taylor, and Joshua Cooper.

Championship League Snooker
Stage One Draw

Group 1
June twentieth
Group 2
June twenty fifth
Group 3
June twenty seventh
Group 4
Kyren Wilson Ronnie O’Sullivan Shaun Murphy Mark Williams
Scott Donaldson He Guoqiang Tian Pengfei Connor Benzey
Baipat Siripaporn Mitchell Mann Reanne Evans David Grace
Daniel Womersley Kayden Brierley Steven Hallworth Fergal Quinn
Group 5
June twenty sixth
Group 6
June twenty fourth
Group 7 Group 8
Ali Carter Gary Wilson Robbie McGuigan Jak Jones
Xing Zihao Joe Perry Barry Pinches Jordan Brown
Kreishh Gurbaxani Michael Holt Sanderson Lam Antoni Kowalski
Joshua Thomond Huang Jiahao Tom Ford Bulcsú Révész
Group 9
June twenty fourth
Group 10 Group 11 Group 12
June twenty fifth
John Higgins Jackson Web page Ryan Day Jack Lisowski
Ma Hailong Andrew Higginson Liam Davies Mark Davis
Ben Mertens Robert Milkins Hammad Miah Jiang Jun
Artemijs Zizins Iulian Boiko Marco Fu Anton Kazakov
Group 13
June twenty first
Group 14
June twentieth
Group 15
June twenty seventh
Group 16
June twenty sixth
Si Jiahui Hossein Vafaei David Gilbert Zhou Yuelong
Jimmy Robertson Louis Heathcote Xu Si Fan Zhengyi
Zak Surety Manasawin Phetmalaikul Andrew Pagett Alfie Burden
Lee Daegyu Josh Mulholland Duane Jones Mink Nutcharut
Group 17 Group 18
June twenty first
Group 19
June twenty second
Group 20
June twenty second
Chris Wakelin Stuart Bingham Noppon Saengkham Pang Junxu
Ian Burns Anthony Hamilton Lengthy Zehuang Stuart Carrington
Rory McLeod Ahmed Aly Elsayed Lei Peifan Gong Chenzhi
Liam Pullen Hamim Hussain Alfie Davies Gerard Greene
Group 21 Group 22 Group 23 Group 24
June 18th
Neil Robertson Joe O’Connor Michael White Ricky Walden
Cheung Ka Wai Aaron Hill Ryan Davies Martin O’Donnell
Jamie Clarke Harvey Chandler Stephen Maguire Rory Thor
Zack Richardson Oliver Traces Dean Younger Umut Dikme
Group 25 Group 26
June nineteenth
Group 27
June nineteenth
Group 28
June 18th
Matthew Stevens Matthew Selt Yuan Sijun Wu Yize
Farakh Ajaib Graeme Dott David Lilley Ross Muir
Robbie Williams Alexander Ursenbacher Liam Graham Allan Taylor
Haydon Pinhey Florian Nuessle Paul Deaville Joshua Cooper
Group 29 Group 30 Group 31 Group 32
Ben Woollaston Jamie Jones Ashley Carty Thepchaiya Un-Nooh
Stan Moody Ishpreet Singh Chadha Elliot Slessor Daniel Wells
Dominic Dale Chris Totten Simon Blackwell Mark Joyce
Dylan Emery Liu Hongyu Mostafa Dorgham Julien Leclercq

Featured photograph credit score: WST



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments